De vraagprijs / A Desirable Residence – Madeleine Wickham (Sophie Kinsella)

The English version can be found below.

9200000002271449Titel: De vraagprijs

Auteur: Madeleine Wickham / Sophie Kinsella

Verschenen: juni 2012

Pagina’s: 288

Uitgever: The House of books

Liz en Jonathan hebben niet één maar twee hypotheken, een berg schulden en een mopperende puberdochter. Tot makelaar Marcus in hun leven verschijnt – en al hun problemen als sneeuw voor de zon verdwijnen. Marcus regelt de perfecte huurders voor hun oude huis. Harten en dromen slaan op tilt. En spoedig zijn de levens van alle betrokkenen aan een grondige renovatie toe. Zou Marcus daar ook raad op weten?

Zoals jullie weten, lees ik momenteel een groot aantal Sophie Kinsella boeken. Sophie Kinsella is de alias van Madeleine Wickham en schreef dit boek onder haar eigen naam. Het boek begon veelbelovend vond ik. Liz leek een interessant en enthousiast personage. Alleen leek ze mij nogal impulsief. Totaal het tegenovergestelde van mij. Ik was echter niet zo betoverd over het boek. De personages vallen naar het midden toe uit elkaar. Niets van het charme hebben ze nog over. Ik wist tijdens het lezen niet met wel karakter ik sympatie moest hebben. Er was geen één normaal bezig, behalve misschien Jonathan. Daarnaast wilden ze teveel banale, er niet toe doende gebeurtenissen in het verhaal verweven. Nee, het was niet mijn favorieten boek. Hij leest makkelijk weg en het is geen complexe literatuur, maar toch heb ik liever een of meer personages die mijn vrienden zouden kunnen zijn. Daarnaast wil ik niet veel vertellen over het einde, maar ook dat viel mij wat tegen. Ik zou je voorstellen hem zelf te lezen, maar voor mij is het verhaal minder geschikt.

Bij bol kun je de paperback vinden van dit boek. Je betaalt er 15.60 euro voor.

Wat is jullie favoriete Sophie Kinsella boek?

 

 

indexTitle: A desirable residence

Author: Madeleine Wickham / Sophie Kinsella

Verschenen: November 2004

Pagina’s: 288

Uitgever: Black Swan

Liz and Jonathan Chambers were in trouble. Mortgage trouble. They’d stretched themselves to busting with their new exciting project – well, Liz thought it exciting – buying and managing the Silchester Tutorial College, and now couldn’t sell their old house. Here they were, stuck with two mortgages, mounting debts and a miserable adolescent daughter who hadn’t wanted to move anyway.

Then Marcus Witherstone came into their lives – and at first it seemed he would solve all their problems. Marcus, senior partner in Silchester’s leading estate agency, was large, assured, and wore an expensive overcoat. He knew the perfect tenants from London who would rent their old house – glamorous PR girl Ginny and almost-famous Piers. Everything was going to be OK.

But soon Marcus found himself involved with Liz in a way he’d never intended. Keeping his adulterous trysts secret from Anthea was uncomfortably easy – most of the time her head was firmly buried in Improve your Child’s IQ. Meanwhile, as Liz was lost in blissful dreams of Marcus, Jonathan was left to run the tutorial college. Neither of them had time to notice that teenage Alice was developing a desperate passion for the tenants, Piers and Ginny.

Everyone seemed to be entangled with everyone else, in the most awkward possible way. And as events closed in on him, Marcus began to realise that some deceptions are just a bit too close to home.

At the moment I’m reading a lot of Sophie Kinsella books. Sophie Kinsella is the alias of Madeleine Wickham and this book was written under her own name. The book started promising. Liz seemed to be an interesting and enthusiastic character. She seemed quite impulsive as well. Totally not me. In the end I was not really charmed by the book. The characters loose all their charm from the middle on. I didn’t really know with which character I needed to sympathize. On top of that there were unnecessary situations, which were annoying.I won’t reread this book.

Amazon – 6.99 british pounds

What’s your favorite Sophie Kinsella book?

Geef een reactie

