De Prinses / The heir (The selection) – Kiera Cass

The English version can be found below.


KnipselTitel:
 De selectie – De prinses

Auteur: Kiera Cass

Verschenen: Juli 2015

Pagina’s: 288

Uitgever: Van Goor

 

De achttienjarige prinses Eadlyn is ,druk bezig zich voor te bereiden op haar toekomst als koningin. In Illea is het onrustig. Hoewel koning Maxon en koningin America het kastenstelsel hebben afgeschaft, heerst er toch ontevredenheid in het land. Eadlyn ziet dat haar vader zich zorgen maakt, maar wat kan ze doen? Haar ouders zijn van mening dat het volk afleiding nodig heeft en een nieuwe Selectie kan daarvoor zorgen. Eadlyn daarentegen heeft helemaal geen zin in 35 jongens die zich met haar leven komen bemoeien. Dat haar ouder op een sprookjesachtige manier bij elkaar zijn gekomen, betekent niet dat voor haar hetzelfde geldt. Maar als de strijd om haar hart losbarst, zou ze er wel eens achter kunnen komen dat haar eigen geluk niet zo ver weg is als ze dacht.

 

Dit boek werd wisselend ontvangen bij het publiek. Sommigen vonden dat Eadlyn rotverwend was. Zo heb ik het niet echt ervaring. Ze is verwend, maar volgens mij is ze vooral erg naïef. Ze ziet alleen haar eigen visie, waardoor ze erg arrogant kan overkomen. Ze heeft erg veel moeite met empathie. Dat wordt bewezen door bepaalde uitspraken die ze doet:

She straightened the clothes looped over her arm. “No. His program is very demanding, so for now it’s actually helpful.”
I leaned my head to one side, continuing to brush. “That’s interesting. What’s he studying?”
“Mark is a chemist. He’s studying biochemistry, specifically.”
My eyes widened. “Really? Such a range in your professions.”
She frowned. “There’s no caste system anymore, Your Highness. People can date and marry anyone they want to.”
I turned away from the mirror to look at her directly. “That’s not what I mean. It’s simply intriguing to me the dynamic you must have. You have my laundry in your arms, and he might cure a disease. Those are two incredibly different roles in the world

Sommige vinden Eadlyn erg arrogant, maar volgens mij is ze gewoon naïef en idioot. Het nadeel is dat ik mij hier onbewust wel wat aan ergerde. Ik zeg onbewust, omdat ik wat lichtgeraakt was bij het eerste één derde van het boek. Wanneer mijn vriend iets zei, was ik vrij lichtgeraakt. Gelukkig verbeterde dit gevoel doorheen het verhaal. Ze begon iets meer empathie te vertonen. Hoewel er voor mij op het einde wel een moment was waar ze het even weer verpestte.

Het verhaal zit wel leuk in elkaar. Jammer genoeg miste ik een beetje het dystopische in deze wereld én de uitdagende uitdagingen voor de geselecteerden. Het was allemaal wat losser en minder serieus. Maar ik miste wat organisatie in de selectie. In de trilogie leek het allemaal beter aangepakt.

Uiteindelijk ben ik erg blij dat ik het boek gelezen heb en dat ik mijn eigen mening heb kunnen vormen. Het tweede deel vond ik leuk om te lezen, maar met het eerste deel heb ik wat meer moeite. Ik denk dat je zelf moet beslissen of je het wil lezen.

Dit boek is te koop bij bol voor 15.00 euro


22918050Title:
 The Selection – The heir

Author: Kiera Cass

Published: January 2015

Pagina’s: 342

Uitgever: Harper Teen

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

This book was not received in unison by the public. Some found that Eadlyn was spoiled brat. I think though that she was especially naïeve, which causes her to look arrogant. She has a lot of difficulties with empathy. This is proven by the exclamations she does:

She straightened the clothes looped over her arm. “No. His program is very demanding, so for now it’s actually helpful.”
I leaned my head to one side, continuing to brush. “That’s interesting. What’s he studying?”
“Mark is a chemist. He’s studying biochemistry, specifically.”
My eyes widened. “Really? Such a range in your professions.”
She frowned. “There’s no caste system anymore, Your Highness. People can date and marry anyone they want to.”
I turned away from the mirror to look at her directly. “That’s not what I mean. It’s simply intriguing to me the dynamic you must have. You have my laundry in your arms, and he might cure a disease. Those are two incredibly different roles in the world

Some think Eadlyn is very arrogant, but I think she is naïeve and idiotic. The downfall is that I unwittingly was annoyed by this. I say unwittingly because I was very short when I was reading the first third of the book. When my boyfriend was saying someting to me during, I kinda snapped. Luckily the feeling got better throughout the story. She started to show some empathy. Although, in the end there was a moment that ruined it a bit again for me.

 

The story is build in a fun way. I missed the dystopical part of this world and challenges that were important for the selected. It was all a bit loser and less serieus. I missed the organised part of de selection. This was done better in the trilogy.

Finally I’m happy that I have read the book and that I was able to make my own opinion. The second part I found fun to read, but I had more difficulties with the first part. I think you have to decide for yourself whether you want to read is.

Amazon – 5.59 British Pounds

Geef een reactie

