The Wrath and The Dawn (The wrath and the dawn) – Renee Ahdieh

The English version can be found below.
18798983Titel: The wrath and the dawn 1 – The wrath and the dawn

Auteur: Renee Ahdieh

Verschenen: Mei 2015

Pagina’s: 388

Uitgever: GP Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

 

Ik volg verschillende booktubers. Hierdoor maak ik altijd kennis met nieuwe boeken, die ik zelf bijvoorbeeld nog niet ken. Eén van deze boeken was The Wrath and the Dawn van Renee Andieh. Dit zou een retelling zijn van de Arabische vertellingen van 1001 nachten. Omdat de retellingen van Marissa Meyer mij enorm bevallen, wou ik deze zeker gaan lezen. Ik kon ze alleen niet kopen, want ik moest even spaarzaam zijn ;). Groot was mij verrassing en plezier toen ik het audiobook op Scribd terug vond.

Ik luister graag naar audioboeken tijdens treinreizen(als ik niet gestoord word) of tijdens huishoudelijke taken. Dan heb ik mijn handen vrij om andere dingen te doen, maar worden vervelende taakjes toch iets aangenamer gemaakt. Daarvoor vond ik dit boek uitermate geschikt.

The wrath and the dawn verteld het verhaal van Shahrzad. Haar beste vriendin werd vermoord door de handen van de Khalid. De Khalid neemt elke avond een nieuwe bruid en zij wordt de volgende ochtend vermoord. Shahrzad is uit op wraak! Daarom wordt zijn vrijwillig de nieuwe bruid van de Khalid. Ze wil hem zo snel mogelijk vermoorden en alle voorgaande bruiden hiermede wreken.

Dit verhaal maakte mij erg nieuwsgierig. Ik vond het erg leuk geschreven, maar ik heb wel een negatief puntje bij dit boek. Er worden veel moeilijke en nieuwe woorden gebruikt. Hierdoor wordt het lezen wat vermoeilijkt. Gelukkig kun je achteraan het boek een soort verklarende woordenlijst vinden.

Daarenboven lijkt het door de samenvatting een soort ‘actieverhaal’ te worden, maar dat is zeker niet het geval. Het is eerder een romantisch boek en gaat over een ontluikende geliefde. Ik heb het erg graag gelezen. Het is niet het beste boek die ik ooit las, maar ik heb mij er zeker mee geamuseerd. Als je dol bent op retellings of liefdesverhalen, dan is dit het boek voor jou!

Bookdepository – 10.00 euro
18798983Title: The wrath and the dawn 1 – The wrath and the dawn

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Published: May 2015

Pages: 388

Publisher: GP Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

I follow few different booktubers. This cause me to learn about new books, that I didn’t know yet. One of these books was the Wrath and the Dawn of Renee Andieh. This is a retelling of the well known story 1001 arabic nights. Because the retelling of Marissa Meyer are one of my book loves, I really wanted to read this one. Due to momentarily saving, I was happy to find the audiobook on Scribd.

I love listening to audiobooks during traintravels (if i’m not being disturbed :() or during house chores. I have my hands free to do other things, but annoying tasks become more enjoyable.

The wrath and the dawn tells the story of Shahrzad. Her best friend was murdered by the Khalid. Every day he takes a new bride, which is being murdered the next morning. Shahrzad wants revenge! Therefore she volunteers to become the new bride of Khalid. She wants to murder him! She wants to take revenge for all previous brides!

I was very intrigued by the story. It is written in a very enjoyable way, but there was one negative point on this book. A lot of hard and new words are being used. This makes the reading a bit more difficult. Luckily there is a glossary at the end of the book.

I was expecting rather an action filled story, but that’s not really the case. It’s more a romantic book and it tells the story of young love. I loved reading it. The book is not the best one I’ve ever read, but it was a lovely story to read. If you adore retellings or love stories, that this book is suited for you!

Amazon – 7.77 British Pounds

Kindle ebook – 11.17 dollar

Een gedachte over “The Wrath and The Dawn (The wrath and the dawn) – Renee Ahdieh

Geef een reactie

