De beeldhouwer / The Sculptor – Scott McCloud

The English version can be found below.

the sculptorTitel: De beeldhouwer

Auteur: Scott McCloud

Verschenen: September 2014

Pagina’s: 488

Uitgever: First Second

David Smith is giving his life for his art—literally. Thanks to a deal with Death, the young sculptor gets his childhood wish: to sculpt anything he can imagine with his bare hands. But now that he only has 200 days to live, deciding  what  to create is harder than he thought, and discovering the love of his life at the 11th hour isn’t making it any easier!

This is a story of desire taken to the edge of reason and beyond; of the frantic, clumsy dance steps of young love; and a gorgeous, street-level portrait of the world’s greatest city. It’s about the small, warm, human moments of everyday life…and the great surging forces that lie just under the surface. Scott McCloud wrote the book on how comics work; now he vaults into great fiction with a breathtaking, funny, and unforgettable new work.

Mijn inspiratie voor nieuwe boeken ga ik vaak bij verschillende booktubers terecht. Daar zag ik de comic The Sculptor nogal vaak passeren. Daardoor was ik er erg nieuwsgierig naar geworden en ik besloot de gok te wagen en het ebook op amazon te kopen.

Deze heb ik op mijn kindle gelezen. Het nadeel hiervan is dat ik hem natuurlijk in het zwart-wit las. Daarenboven ben ik ook minder een comic lezer, maar ik wou het toch een eerlijke kans geven.

Ik vond deze comic erg mooi getekend. Daarenboven vond ik het verhaal erg mooi bedacht. Het is een zeer lieflijk en mooi verhaal. Zelf ben ik erg blij dat ik het gelezen ben. Ik blijf geen comic fan, maar ik heb veel meer genoten van deze comic dan van Lumberjanes.

Wat zijn jullie comic aanraders?

Bookdepository – 21.48 euro
the sculptorTitle: The Sculptor

Author:  Scott McCloud

Published: September 2014

Pages: 488

Publisher: First Second

David Smith is giving his life for his art—literally. Thanks to a deal with Death, the young sculptor gets his childhood wish: to sculpt anything he can imagine with his bare hands. But now that he only has 200 days to live, deciding  what  to create is harder than he thought, and discovering the love of his life at the 11th hour isn’t making it any easier!

This is a story of desire taken to the edge of reason and beyond; of the frantic, clumsy dance steps of young love; and a gorgeous, street-level portrait of the world’s greatest city. It’s about the small, warm, human moments of everyday life…and the great surging forces that lie just under the surface. Scott McCloud wrote the book on how comics work; now he vaults into great fiction with a breathtaking, funny, and unforgettable new work.

For my inspiration I often watch videos on booktube. On these videos the sculptor was being shown quite often. Therefore I become very curious to the book. I decided to throw the dice and to buy the ebook on Amazon.

I read this comic on my Kindle. A disadvantage to this is that everything is in black and white. On top of that I am less of a comic book reader, but I decided to try and give it an honest chance.

I loved the way this book is book was drawn. My next love was the story. It was beautifully thought off. It is an amicable, sweet and beautiful story. I am very glad that I have read it. I’m staying not a comic fan, but I loved this comic book more that the comics of lumberjanes.

What are you comic recommendations?

 

Amazon – 15.90 British Pounds

Kindle ebook -14.56 dollar

3 gedachten over “De beeldhouwer / The Sculptor – Scott McCloud

  1. Wat leuk dat je het toch hebt gelezen terwijl het niet helemaal je genre is! Ik lees echt nooit comics, ik hou er niet zo van. Maar misschien moet ik het dan toch een eerlijke kans geven. 😉

    Like

Geef een reactie

