Het bittere begin / The bad beginnings en/and De slangensterre/The Reptile Room – Lemony Snicket

The English version can be found below.
Knipsel2Titel:Het Bittere Begin

Auteur: Lemony Snicket

Verschenen: 2001

Pagina’s: 152

Uitgever: Ploegsma

Ik moet je helaas waarschuwen dat dit een erg onplezierig boek is. Het gaat over drie kinderen die door rampspoed achtervolgd worden. In dit boek alleen al krijgen ze te maken met een smerige schurk, kriebelkleren, een noodlottige brand, een toneelstuk en koude pap voor het ontbijt. Het is mijn droeve plicht hun lotgevallen op te schrijven. Maar jij kunt dit boek natuurlijk best wegleggen en iets gezelligers gaan lezen – als je daarvan houdt, tenminste.

Knipsel3

Titel: De slangenserre

Auteur: Amy Poehler

Verschenen: 2001

Pagina’s: 184

Uitgever: Ploegsma

Laat je niet misleiden door het vrolijke begin van dit boek, want wie de Baudelaires kent, weet dat alles altijd een akelige wending krijgt. Deze keer krijgen ze te maken met de Ongelooflijk Dodelijke Gifadder, een walgelijke walm, een leeslamp, een vlijmscherp mes en een persoon die ze hadden gehoopt nooit meer te zien. Ik moet deze tragedie opschrijven, maar jij mag dit boek natuurlijk best terugzetten op de plank en iets vrolijkers uitkiezen.

Een aantal jaar geleden kocht ik de boeken van Lemony Snicket, maar ik had ze nog steeds niet gelezen. Nu vond ik het toch tijd om er tijd voor te maken.  Deze reeks bestaat uit 13 verschillende boeken en vandaag vertel ik jullie iets meer over de eerste twee.

Lemony Snicket leerde ik kennen toen de film uitkwam. De film vond ik niet slecht en ik was benieuwd naar de boeken.

In het eerste boek maken we kennis met de Baudelaire wezen en de vreselijke Graaf Olaf. Ik denk dat ik nog nooit een grotere slechterik ontmoet heb en dat allemaal voor geld. Er wordt geen hand omgedraaid voor het vloeien van bloed of het manipuleren van mensen. Gelukkig hebben we te maken met erg slimme wezens, zodat ze er nog een stokje voor kunnen steken. Ik herken mezelf vooral als combinatie van de twee oudste wezen en ik hoop dat ik ook zo sterk zou zijn, moest ik in hun situatie zitten. Voor mij zijn dit aanraders en ik ben al benieuwd naar de andere boeken.

Bij Bol is een bundel van de eerste drie boeken te koop en deze kost slechts 9 euro (tweedehands).

Bookdepository – 8.97 euro en 9.10 euro


78411Title
: The bad beginning

Author: Lemony Snicket

Published: September 1999

Pages: 176

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Dear Reader,

I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

78418

Title: The reptile room

Author: Lemony Snicket

Published: September 1999

Pages: 192

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Dear Reader,

If you have picked up this book with the hope of finding a simple and cheery tale. I’m afraid you have picked up the wrong book altogether. The story may seem cheery at first, when the Baudelaire children spend time in the company of some interesting reptiles and a giddy uncle, but don’t be fooled. If you know anything at all about the unlucky Baudelaire children, you already know that even pleasant events lead down the same road to misery.

In fact, within the pages you now hold in your hands, the three siblings endure a car accident, a terrible odor, a deadly serpent, a long knife, a large brass reading lamp, and the reappearance of a person they’d hoped never to see again.

I am bound to record these tragic events, but you are free to put this book back on the shelf and seek something lighter.

With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket

A few years ago I bought the books of Lemony Snicket, but I still hadn’t read them. Now I found that it was time to make time to read them. The series exists out of 13 books and today I will tell you a bit more about the first two. I learned about the books of Lemony Snicket when the movie was made. Therefore I became curious about the books.

 

In the first book we get to know the Baudelaire Orphans and the awful Count Olaf. I think I never met a bigger villain and that all for money. He makes blood flow and is manipulating people along the way. Luckily the Baudelaire orphans are very smart, so they can prohibit some of his schemes. I mostly recognise myself as a combination of the two eldest ones and I hope I would be so strong when I am in similar situations as them. For me this are must-reads and I love to know what will happens in the next books.

I found it a fun audiobook, but don’t expect a super intriguing content.

Amazon – 6.99 pounds and 5.99 pounds

Kindle ebook – 4.42 dollar and 5.79 dollar

Geef een reactie

